1. Castor

Castor New Member

UK emergency services procedure

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Castor, Apr 14, 2013.

Hi All,

I'm having trouble with the opening scene of my book as I have little knowledge regarding standard procedure of UK emergency services. I'll ask my questions here, but if anyone can recommend a reliable website/forum to get this information I would be grateful.

The scene introduces the Main Character, a 14 year old boy, and his parents as they drive home from holiday. The scene takes place on a country road at night, around 2 o’clock in the morning, with a river running parallel to the road. The river is running fast due to heavy rain. The driver, the MC’s father, swerves to avoid hitting something and drives into the river.
    Another driver, not far behind the characters car, sees the accident, pulls up and phones the emergency services to report the accident. The driver realizes that the MC is lying on the riverbank a short distance away. The MC is conscious, but suffering from concussion and fever. The police and paramedics arrive at the scene. The MC is treated by paramedics before being taken to hospital.

My main question is what would the emergency services do regarding the vehicle? Would they send divers down to find the bodies of the parents? Would they, and how would they, get the vehicle and/or bodies out of the water? Would they wait until daylight? How would the fact that the river is running fast due to rain affect the efforts? Which emergency services would be involved in this?

Also, what other injuries might the MC have suffered assuming that the car rolled down the steep bank and the character managed to escape the vehicle and swim to the river bank? What should the driver who called the emergency services do to ensure the MC’s safety before the paramedics arrive?