1. WriteWise

WriteWise New Member

Do's AND DONT's WHEN INTERVIEWING FOR A WRITING JOB

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by WriteWise, Jul 5, 2007.

Good Morning (Afternoon, Evening to others)

I am new to the forum and I already have a question! I am hoping you all can help me in my dilemma. For years since I was little, I have known that I was meant to be writer. It has always been a passion of mine and landing a job in the field was the beginning of my dream.

Currently I am pursuing a 4 year degree, majoring in English. I still have a little more than half way to go. I have been working in the Travel industry for the past 5-6 years, and I have some experience in marketing as far as helping with advertising, newsletter, writing company articles and such. It is not extensive though, I’ll be honest. Also I have never had a byline or anything like that.

Anyway, my current dilemma is: after what seems like forever of applying for writing jobs, I finally received back a reply extending me an interview invitation! It is happening this upcoming Monday and they have asked me to bring in two writing samples. I am extremely excited and I want to go into this with my best foot forward, however I am equally terrified. First of all, I’m not sure what to bring as writing samples. I have no idea what they are expecting and I don’t want to bring in something that makes me look foolish.

Can anyone give me some recommendations? If you need to know more about me as far as my creative strengths or something like that, do let me know! Thank you all in advance.

Sincerely,
    WriteWise (Cara)

2. Crazy Ivan

Crazy Ivan New Member

Well, first off, what type of job are you applying for? Newspaper? Travel magazine? Online fantasy collection? The nature of the job should, obviously, help decide what to bring.

3. WriteWise

WriteWise New Member