1. CharlieUK

CharlieUK New Member

Doubt

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by CharlieUK, Jan 9, 2012.

So.. I've been writing for about 6 months, I've managed to get about halfway through a story and clocking up about 40 000 words. The thing is, I've starting to doubt whether its any good... Not so much the quality of the writing as the plot. A few people have read through it and I recieved some great feedback, but I can't seem to shake the feeling that it's just missing the mark. I go hot and cold, somedays I love it and others I hate it so much I want to set it on fire. I'm at the stage where I either commit to finishing the novel or start a fresh.... Previously I have aways written short stories, which have only taken a few days, I never felt like this writing them, I never doubted myself! Is this common when trying to write a novel? Are Should I risk wasting another year on it? Any Advice?

2. MassThinker

MassThinker Active Member

You should never doubt yourself, anything you write is worth finishing.

3. madhoca

madhoca Contributing Member Contributor

Finish your work, try your luck with it, if it doesn't get accepted put it in a box and keep it in the bottom of your cupboard. When you look at it about a year later, you'll probably understand why it didn't get published. Hopefully, you'll also realise how much finishing it taught you--because you must finish it, if it's the last thing you ever do. It is not a waste, it's a step nearer success.
    Or so I've always told myself. I've stopped asking people I know for feedback because they just say it's great. Like you, I think now it's my plots that are the problem--still too complicated but not enough central idea to them. Short stories don't really do it for me. Unfortunately, I have very little free time, so finishing anything takes ages, but I really love it, so, hey--it's just as 'pointless' as sitting watching TV or something, isn't it?

4. hoggyboy

hoggyboy Senior Member

two pieces of advice: