1. Lea`Brooks

Lea`Brooks Contributor Contributor

Things you're tired of hearing as a writer

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Lea`Brooks, Jul 17, 2015.

We've all experienced it...

You're at a social gathering, mingling with friends and getting hammered. A stranger enters your group, or a "friend of a friend." They seem polite. Friendly. Sometimes even downright joyful. They smile and flip their hair, asking questions and poking fun as if they've known you for a lifetime.

And then it happens... The dreaded question.

"So what do you do?"

You contemplate pretending you didn't even hear them. (I'm slightly deaf in this ear. Speak a little louder next time.) But no. You don't want to be rude. You consider lying. (I invented Post-Its.) But alas.. You're terrible at lying and even this random stranger would be able to see right through you. So you admit it.

"I'm a writer."

She takes a breath, a look of pure excitement spreading across her innocently dumb face and says the one thing you hate most...

"I know a guy who just got published! I should give you his information and see if he can help you."

"I've always wanted to write a book. I just don't have the time." [sadface]

"What's your book about?"

And so on.. And so forth..

What do you hate hearing as a writer?

Nicoel likes this.
  2. Sack-a-Doo!

Sack-a-Doo! Contributor Contributor

All of the above. :)

Nicoel and Lea`Brooks like this.
  3. The Mad Regent

The Mad Regent Senior Member

I don't actually tell people I'm a writer, because I'm not; but if they ask what I enjoy doing then I usually list writing, and then it goes, 'Oh, wow, really? What kind of things do you write?' And then when you list the genres you read and write then they either get all excited or quickly change the subject, depending on their own tastes. :p

But yeah, there is the usual listed above as well.

Last edited: Jul 17, 2015
    Lea`Brooks likes this.
  4. thirdwind