7 vote(s)
    43.8%
  2. On-screen

9 vote(s)
    56.3%
  1. nastyjman

nastyjman Senior Member

Editing: Print or On-Screen?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by nastyjman, Oct 19, 2010.

So I was wondering, do you edit your drafts (short stories, novels, scripts, poems) on print or on screen?

2. Naiyn

Naiyn New Member

I do a bit of both. It's kind of strange, actually. It seems like it should be easier on screen-- moving deleting changing etc... Yet I find I'm a better editor when I use a printed page. Not sure why. :confused:

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

On screen, and then when I know that I've gone over everything so carefully that it just isn't possible for any errors to remain, I print out the whole thing and find a few I missed. Sigh.

4. afinemess

afinemess Active Member

both. I do a good read through on screen, then print it, leave it alone for a while, then read it and edit again from the page. I don't know why, but changing it up and giving it some time to get out of my head helps me see more errors.

5. Agreen

Agreen Faceless Man Contributor

Both. Individual sentences on screen, bigger issues like plot and characterization in text.

6. nastyjman

nastyjman Senior Member

Same here... feels like there's something magical about paper. :D

I think it's better on paper because it's tangible and immediate. Whereas on-screen, you have to scroll up and down, and your view is limited to a section.

7. hiddennovelist

hiddennovelist Contributor Contributor

Print, for the most part. I really dislike doing anything on screen. I know it's horrible for the environment, but I print everything...articles that I'm reading, stuff that I'm reviewing...I just can't concentrate when I try to do it on the computer.

8. Zombie_Chinchilla

Zombie_Chinchilla New Member