Tags:
  1. jo spumoni

jo spumoni Active Member

La Jolla, CA (and Mission Viejo, CA, during the su

Editing

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by jo spumoni, Dec 31, 2010.

I have a finished novella that I really need feedback on. However, I want it to be published when it's good enough, so posting it online is out of the question. My family and two of my friends have read it, but I really need someone impartial to give me a comprehensive critique. However, I don't have the money to pay for editing as I am a starving student. Any suggestions?

2. JohnathanRS

JohnathanRS New Member

Not many options to be honest. Top three I can think of:

1. Get chummy with a few people online through sites like these and see if they would be willing to review it.

2. Ask a english professor if they could take the time to review it. Most professors will usually review a few chapters, and if they ask to continue with the story(which they will if they like it) they will request more.

3. Go to your basic barnes and nobles and find people who are reading similiar works that your book is focused towards. For example, if it is fantasy, then find the fantasy section and see who is looking through the collections.

Start up a random conversation with them and then bring up that you are a inspirting author. In fact most times people will ask if you have written anything so this tends to be easy to do. Print out your work on basic computer paper and a cheap divider (1 buck plus computer paper.) and give it to them with your number/email to send it to you when you are done.

4. Same as number 3 except book clubs odviously will have a lot of readers.