1. Kitbug

Kitbug Contributing Member

Emotion

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Kitbug, Dec 25, 2008.

I always feel like when I write I'm not very good at describing emotion. I feel like I could do it if I were to go on and on about it for a very long time, but then I think everyone would just be bored with my descriptions of it. Does anyone have any good pointers for writing emotion better? (Especially sad ones, I feel those are the ones I have the hardest time portraying realistically.)

2. Dcoin

Dcoin Contributing Member

Maybe try to mix in actions that show strong emotions along with light description. Your readers will pickup on the sentiment and it saves page real estate for more story.

3. tehuti88

tehuti88 Contributing Member

I detest using an example of my own writing--since I'm not offering it for critique and I can't for the life of me say if it's any good--but writing emotion is more about SHOWING how the characters react to things, than about going on at length TELLING how they're feeling.

For illustration here's a scene from my current WIP. Makwaquae is the wife of one of the bad guys, Mishosha, and throughout the story he's been depicted as a power-hungry jerk who'll even sell out his adopted grandson to get his way. I wanted to show, however, that despite all this, the connection between Makwaquae and himself is very close, so of course her death would have a huge impact on him.

Since this is from the POV of the main character, Charmian, I can't directly say what Mishosha is feeling; I can only describe what Charmian sees him do.