1. sam80

sam80 New Member

inspiration....

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by sam80, Apr 10, 2012.

Where do you all find your inspiration. I dont mean just to write, but inspiration for what you write, your ideas, characters, etc

For me its a few things. I love people, I find human nature fascinating. I'm pretty good at empathising with people (i think anyway), so I love developing characters and really thinking how would they react to certain things and how is it different from how i think i would in my life.

I also love history, genealogy, the British Military. I am inspired by all of these things.

Just curious;)

2. superpsycho

superpsycho New Member

Everything. I have a lot of experience to draw from.

3. Ancient

Ancient New Member

I read a lot. That definitely helps. You think of different ways you would have taken the story, and a whole new story might just develop. I also watch a lot of TV shows that deal with the subjects I like to write about. Browse through a few and perhaps you'll find some inspiration. If you're a lover of history, I would imagine it'd be hard to watch the history channel, or browse through a few decent history blogs somewhere, and get some kind of spark going on :)

Best of luck to you, no matter how you find it!

4. RowenaFW

RowenaFW New Member

Sounds boastful, but I don't need inspiration for ideas for stories. The majority of my ideas come from dreams. I can't control the rate they come, and have far more ideas than I can deal with writing. Inspiration for writing here and now... that's trickier. The weather, time of day, fresh air, lack of sleep, light conditions and smells from outdoors get my creative brain working. If I want to write but don't feel up to it my best bet is to read something else I have written, or a friend has written, and talk about it. Published books don't work - I need the author.

5. Lemex

Lemex That's Lord Lemex to you. Contributor