1. Chef Dave

Chef Dave New Member

Excellent Resource for Chinese Information, Past and Present

Discussion in 'Research' started by Chef Dave, Aug 1, 2008.

Hello All!

I'm writing a fantasy set in ancient China. Since I don't speak Chinese and since there are only a relatively few English language books about the period of history I'm interested in, I was pleasantly surprised to find a site called the Chinese History Forum.

What makes this site unusual is that new members are limited to 30 posts. Posting privileges are thereafter suspended unless you pass an on-line 20 question open book multiple choice examination on Chinese history with a 60% or higher.

The site is run by a Taiwanese who lives in Singapore. I estimate that half to three-quarters of our members are westerners but the other half are Asian - primarily Chinese. Although most of these Chinese live in China, the rest are scattered throughout the rest of Southeast Asia.

As a culinary arts teacher, I've been intrigued by an American of Vietnamese descent who has been adding to a thread of Vietnamese dishes. He has taken digital pictures of a step by step cooking process and added appropriate commentary and direction. I thought this was quite professionally done.

I've also had a discussion with a Chinese teacher about what it's like to teach Chinese students as opposed to working in the states.

In the mythology section, I was disappointed to find that one of my fantasy creatures wasn't evil at all.

My character's use of magic was also chided as being western. I was given advice about Taoist magic and the use of talismans.

What was a "lieutenant" called back in the 12th century? A helpful member told me that the lowest ranking junior officer would have been a Shao Wei. He would have commanded three squads (just like a platoon) but led from the back with a drawn sword. His job was to mercilessly cut down anyone trying to flee his unit during a battle.