1. meredith.r

meredith.r New Member

Excitement of a new character!

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by meredith.r, Dec 17, 2012.

Today, I had a character pop into my head. It was the clearest I have ever seen one, it was great! I am relatively new to writing, so I haven't developed many characters so far, but the one I "met" today is definitely my most exciting starting point I have had!

Is it weird how excited I am about someone who randomly popped into my head? I honestly feel like I know her so well that she is a part of me, like an alter ego type thing (I'm not crazy, I swear!)

For others that have their characters pop in to their head and just create something right then and there on their own, how did things end up? Did you go with the original story that popped in your head with the character, or did it end up being nothing like the original thought? Just curious. I am excited to see where 'she' takes me!

1 person likes this.
  2. DDNeal

DDNeal New Member

Congrats, all good characters live in your head. If you write one that doesn't you may just want to kill them.

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

I'd say that I come up with characters in two distinctly different ways - there are those that just pop into my head, and stories grow from them, and there are those I come up with because I need a certain character to fit a certain place within the story. The former tend to be my main characters, and I build entire stories around them, while the latter tend to be more minor characters.

4. Show

Show Contributor Contributor