1. Youngy

Youngy New Member

Novel Simple query requiring a simple answer.

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Youngy, Feb 17, 2010.

Hey there writers.
    Like the title suggests this is just a simple question that will require a short and simple answer.
    I am writing a novel based around the music industry about a fictional band and I was just wondering what the rules are on associating band 'X' with other, real bands. For example, would I be able to say that band 'X' went on tour with a real band such as Take That?
    Also, would I be able to say that band 'X' were signed to a real life label such as Polydor or would I need to invent a new one of my own.

Please help :)

2. Humour Whiffet

Humour Whiffet Banned

I work as a lawyer in the U.K. Just be careful that you don’t write anything defamatory. You might get sued. More likely, you’ll just put off publishers because they won't want to get sued if they think there is the slightest risk. Similarly, they won’t to pay for a lawyer to read the manuscript if you are an unknown writer.

Just be careful. Don’t have real-life people taking drugs and the like.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

you can do that and get away with, IF you don't write anything derogatory about those existing entities...

4. Youngy

Youngy New Member

Ah, thank you for the answers :)
    I did not want to mention anything bad about existing people, it was just a case of mentioning them in passing and associating the fictional band with them via touring etc.
    But I was not going to include the real people as big characters so it should be all good, right?
    I just wanted to check I didn't need to have special permission or anything like that.

5. Humour Whiffet

Humour Whiffet Banned

Just make sure your band is 100% clean cut. You don’t want to start associating real-life bands with a bunch of drug takers etc.