1. LoneWolfSolace

LoneWolfSolace New Member

Sentence Fragments, etc. in Poetry

Discussion in 'The Craft of Writing Poetry' started by LoneWolfSolace, Jul 30, 2008.

When writing in a strict meter in poetry, do rules of grammer apply the same as in prose, or can some words be omitted in order to keep the meter? I am writing a poem in the form of an epic, and I admit to sometimes dropping a word to keep the meter. Is this acceptable in poetry? I haven't really had any formal instruction on writing poetry, so I am still learning the rules (even some of the basic ones).

The most glaring examples:

24. Past the ocean’s know’ed waves,
    To the foreign seaside caves,
    Searching for a strange new brave
    ‘lone in the Far World.

25. Far World’s island, so untamed,
    Undeserving of a name.
    Creatures there held realmwide fame
    For their ghastly deeds.

27. Rocky waters, deadly seas,
    Plants that poisoned with disease-
    Though most died by twos and threes,
    Some managed to live.

42. Though a hero to the wise,
    Some thought Maca fought for lies.
    Loathing to watch friend’s demise,
    Readied to revolt.

ETA: Great- A glaring typo in the title, and I am unable to edit it. -_-; Mod help?

Mod response - all you need to do is click Go Advanced, and teh advanced mode lets you edit the title as well. I fixed the typo already this time.

Ah, ok- Thank you. :) I'm still learning these boards.

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

yes, if it still makes sense to the reader... a godd poet will often bend and break most of the rules meant for prose, but the result is the test... if it works, it's ok... if it doesn't, it's not... browse the work on my site and you'll see that even in my most structured, meter-based works, some rules will be abandoned...

you'll find the same joyous freedom in many of the world's greatest poets' works, as well...