1. JackTate

JackTate New Member

New to writing - I need help with a single flashback narrative

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by JackTate, Mar 9, 2012.

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to writing, I'm only one chapter in and I'm already stuck :p

My story starts out in the present, my main character is reflecting on the death of his parents (2 years in the past).
    My first chapter introduces the main character, briefly introduces his parents (in way of their death) to the story. It also introduces a tragedy which lead to the parents death.

I'm writing in first person, present tense.

My main character has spent the last two years planning retribution and researching the tragedy. I would like to my second chapter to fill in that two year period, to show the growth of my main character, to show what happened in the days following the death of his parents, and the places he's been since. I would then like to switch back to the present time and continue my story without the need for any further flash backs.

Anyone have any ideas on the best way to do this ?

Let me know if you need any more info.

Thanks in advance,

Jack

2. JackTate

JackTate New Member

actually, I would like to start my flashbacks whilst the main character's parents were still alive. The day of their deaths. Then go into the details of the 2 year period.

Cheers

3. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributor Contributor

I'm sure some people will say that starting off with a character looking back at the past is not ideal, and I'm not sure. As with everything I guess it's about how it's written. Maybe you could alternate flashbacks with present time? The reader doesn't need to know everything right from the start, some things are better revealed as the story goes along, and the reader will feel more for the character when he/she has had the time to get to know and care for him.