1. the1

the1 Active Member

Some questions on screenwriting

Discussion in 'Scripts and screenplays' started by the1, Jul 23, 2011.

I just have a few questions on screenwriting which would help me tremendously if someone were able to answer them.

I am extremely new to screenwriting but have already acquired the services of Final Draft 8 (I hope this was a good software choice).

My first question is, how do I start off?

Do you just launch into writing the screenplay or are you supposed to write a general outline of the story first?

I think it would be easier for me if I wrote some sort of outline first so that I knew where the story is heading. Or is this not the correct procedure?

I am sure I will think of some more questions, however that is it for the moment.

:)

2. whitefairy24601

whitefairy24601 New Member

There are many ways to do it but honestly, my favorite piece of advice is always this: go with your gut. If having an outline will help than go for it! If you are into jumping in try script-frenzy or Nanowrimo.

3. apf42589

apf42589 New Member

int.david's house - night (interior or exterior, place, sub place, day or night)
    david looks at the picture of him and his wife and then slams it on the floor. (Action)

David's Wife (Character)
    what the fuck is your problem! (dialog)

David then walks out the house. blah blah blah (more actions)

Cut to: (New scene)

hope that helps.

4. the1

the1 Active Member

I've read up on how to format a script, that really wasn't really what I was talking about.

I have an idea in my head and I am just wondering what the next thing I should do is? I mean, do I launch into the script or should I write some form of short story so I have more of a complete idea of where it is headed.

Is there some correct procedure to take or do most people just launch into it?

5. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

apf... that's not even close to proper format, sorry to say...