?

What is the best route for a first publication?

1. Online

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Print

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. LukeSurge

LukeSurge New Member

Finding a Starting Point

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by LukeSurge, Mar 3, 2015.

I am wanting to write a first book and try to take it to publication. I have been working on a much larger series for many years, but I do not want it to be my first published work, or any book that could be related to the series. So breaking from my norm, I am stumped on what would be good for a first book. I am a fantasy writer, and I have a basic idea for what I want to accomplish with the feel and flow of the story, but I am not sure what things are best incorporated in a first publication experience. Is there anything particular I should know or plan for in writing my first book and in preparing for submitting it to publishers?

2. Tesoro

Tesoro Contributor Contributor

I'm not sure I understand the question... When you say "What would be good for a first book", what exactly are you talking about? Theme? Genre? Topic? Or do you need help with figuring out the actual story?

3. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I think the same criteria work for first books as work for later books - write something you find interesting, something you have the skill to carry off, and something with a healthy (or at least not totally dead) market.

4. Bryan Romer

Bryan Romer Contributor Contributor

It seems to me that you would want to submit your best work. There is no such thing as a particular style or content requirement for a first novel.

Or perhaps you are saying that you do not want to submit a series as a new author? Even so, submitting the first book of a series for which you have committed much time and thought is better than creating a stand alone novel for which you do not have particular dedication or inspiration merely to test the water.

5. shadowwalker

shadowwalker Contributor Contributor