1. ManicHedgehog

ManicHedgehog Member

Finding the energy/motivation?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by ManicHedgehog, Mar 10, 2009.

I like writing, and I have ideas for stories in my head. Normally things I'd like to flesh out for novels, but the occasional short story comes to me, as well.

The problem I have these days is that I just can't bring myself to write for leisure. I'm a newspaper writer by trade, so I write anywhere between 500 and 2,000 words every day just to make a living, not to mention all the time I spend doing interviews and research, and my weird schedule that eliminates my mornings and nights and leaves me nothing but limbo time in the middle of the day - time I can only loosely consider "free."

The problem is, when I get home from the morning half of my shift, I already have an assignment I have to work on, either then or later, so with that on my mind, I have a hard time bringing myself to write anything for fun. When I get home from my late shifts, I normally just want to crash in bed or do something mindless, like play video games or surf the Web. And when I do finally get motivated to do something with my story, I usually just delve into my books to get more inspiration and do more research on the topic. I just can't bring myself to type "Chapter One" and let it fly.

In the middle of a busy lifestyle, especially one that requires writing by trade, how would you find the energy and motivation to write anything in your spare time? I love writing, but while fiction writing can be mentally stimulating, daily newspaper writing is mentally draining, and I spend so much time recharging my batteries that I'm afraid they've just run dry on me.

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributing Member Contributor

ManicHedgehog,