1. VanillaFrosting

VanillaFrosting New Member

First draft is crap...

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by VanillaFrosting, May 21, 2011.

I've been working off and on for about 3 months on a story. (I write constantly for about a week and then I don't touch it for about a month =P) It's at 24k words...so obviously I have put a little bit of work into it.

I printed off the entire thing so far and I find that I am so bloody disappointed in a great portion of it. There are parts that I love (the parts I always show people!), but for the most part I don't think it's great.

My problem is keeping myself motivated to move past a first draft and make something I think it pretty good. It has happened time after time that I'll write something, get pretty far in it, then go back and read it only to trash it because it is so bad.

Now, this current work is probably my best first draft so far, more than anything because I carry a gritty, crude, tone through the whole thing that I really like, whereas before my writing came off as a bit prudish and Victorian.

Is it normal to have a crappy first draft that turns into something decent? How does one keep themselves motivated to continue working on something they don't think is that great?

2. StrangerWithNoName

StrangerWithNoName Longobard duke

I dont' know if it's normal, but it's happening to me. Hopefully once I finished writing it I'll be capable to revise it and make something good from it.

3. Yoshiko

Yoshiko Contributing Member Contributor

Not even the best writer's are capable of producing a perfect first draft. Most (scrap that, make it all) writer's I know are unimpressed with their first drafts - hence why're they're also known as "rough drafts". If you think it's crap then, clearly, you're able to identify the faults and therefore you're going to be capable of correcting them in later drafts. Shouldn't this be a good thing?

4. spklvr

spklvr Contributing Member Contributor