1. Tobias Preener

Tobias Preener New Member

My Thoughts On Writing

Discussion in 'Fantasy' started by Tobias Preener, Sep 28, 2008.

(If this belongs in the "Why do you write" thread, I apologize. I read the first post, and I don't think this post quite fits in).

People write for a lot of different reasons. Mainly, what I have seen is that people write to express their feelings and to get their ideas onto paper. I started out this way as well. But I have moved away from "getting feelings on paper" and am on solely on getting ideas onto paper.

Ironic as it seems, I feel that a writer putting his/her own emotions and experiences onto paper can tarnish a piece of writing. That person's experience may appeal to the writer, but seem boring or "sappy" to a reader. As a writer, I try to create emotions and experiences that are not my own out of thin air. I write off of "ideas" rather than emotion and experience. This, in my opinion, makes writing more appealing.

Writing should be as original as it can. You cannot imagine how much cliches annoy me. Here is what I consider to be cliche (hence, an instant turnoff for me):
    -Dragons, or other mystical creatures
    -Vampires
    -Typical romance novels
    -Chosen ones/Prophecies
    -Fantasy novels that are too serious when they really shouldn't be.

As a writer, I avoid all the cliches I can and try to create a fresh, original piece of writing.