Tags:
  1. Morgan Stelbas

Morgan Stelbas Active Member

What cliches do you hate?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Morgan Stelbas, Nov 16, 2015.

I am a very amateur writer in that this is the first time I've actually had a media to converse with other writers, as I had a tendency to keep my work to myself. I've decided that if I want to learn, I have to get out there and get advice and tips from the pros... a.k.a. you guys!

One thing I've come across from reading various threads is the mention of cliches appearing in stories. I know there are very common ones, but some I've never heard of, and one in particular I used in a recent project and didn't even realize it was a cliche!

So, to avoid inadvertently including cliches in my stories, I would like you to list the ones that you see the most or hate the most, or both.

2. KhalieLa

KhalieLa It's not a lie, it's fiction. Contributor

Imaginarily likes this.
  3. Imaginarily

Imaginarily Disparu en Mer Contributor

Storytelling is an art form. Everyone does it right. Everyone does it wrong.

You're new; bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, eager to make a good impression with your work. You're worried if you include clichés, you won't be taken seriously or no one will respect you as a writer or you'll be laughed at or whatever.

However, you've got to be true to yourself. Write what makes you happy, and fuck everyone else.

You know how many clichés are in my vampire story?

ALL OF THEM.

You know how sorry I am about it?

I'm not.

Courage, grasshopper. Just write the story that's in you, and write it with confidence. That's the only thing that matters.

Shbooblie, Haze-world, Ippo and 2 others like this.
  4. Morgan Stelbas

Thanks for that link! I was searching for a thread on it already and didn't see this one. I'll take a look at it.

5. Morgan Stelbas

Thanks for this confidence boost! I will write what I write then! ;)

Imaginarily likes this.
  6. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView