1. fozo1655

fozo1655 New Member

Novel Flow

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by fozo1655, Aug 21, 2010.

I'm an aspiring young author. I started to write my first chapter of my first novel and reading it I get discouraged I feel as if it has no flow and I feel like I have little proffesional talent. Any tips would be appreacated! Thank you!

2. Taylee91

Taylee91 Carpe Diem Contributor

You've been hit with the writing bug: A small insect that burrows into your right ear and says you have no ability to write at all. I have one in mine as well.

But not to fear. Here are a few tips I suggest:

1. Read as often as you can. Read fiction and nonfiction.

2. Brush up on your grammar skills. It is a bother, but a necessity.

3. Write everyday. Practice. This will help you gain more breathing room in confidence.

Hope this was helpful :D

Taylee

3. fozo1655

fozo1655 New Member

Well grammer comes with school!

Thanks

4. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor

If you want a review and some suggestions for further developing plot/characters, you can PM me and email me the story, and I'll check it out. :)

5. zeem33

zeem33 Member

H

Last edited: Sep 6, 2023
  6. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

So does spelling. But we all need to brush up from time to time.

7. Lyssaur

Lyssaur New Member

Don't expect to just start writing a novel on your first try; flow and skill come in time. You might want to write a small piece and post it here for reviewing (after you've reviewed two others, of course), and everyone here can help you build. :) Then continue the process...and always keep writing!

8. Mallory

Mallory Contributor Contributor