1. bucolic

bucolic New Member

Foreigner trying to become a writer

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by bucolic, May 8, 2014.

Hey,

New guy here, and I'm sure you creative people get a whole bunch of these every so often, but I hope somebody can point me in the right direction regardless. My question is in regard to the actual process of putting your thoughts into prose rather than anything else.

I'm a foreigner who recently moved to LA. English isn't my first language, and they didn't teach it properly to us in school either. I am self-taught and will continue to work on my English language writing skills up to the point when I can not only understand, but also write something remotely close to Finnegans Wake. I believe you need to have a really strong grasp of English language in order to write something that reads like a complete opposite of that.

That being said, does anybody have any suggestions on how, as a foreigner, can I proceed towards writing walls of texts that wouldn't make people's eyes bleed?

I write almost daily, whether it's an exercise (currently doing The Artist's Way daily journals), putting down some thoughts of mine, or actually working out outlines and drafting something. I read as much as I can, and I use Kindle since it's easier to research unknown words or phrases that I can learn and use myself later. That's pretty much it.

I do understand that in order to start writing, you have to start writing. And I do. Only I despise my work. I would even go as far as to say that almost every sentence I structure will be something I'll hate in about 10 minutes after I re-read it. It just sounds like a foreigner wrote it, even if the grammar and style is correct (which it usually isn't, probably).

How do I fix this?! Please help!

2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Welcome to it, Bucolic. :)