1. Eliemme

Eliemme Member

From scientific writing to creative writing

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Eliemme, Apr 1, 2013.

Hi all,

I am new to the forum and fairly new to creative writing.

Yet, I am not new to writing as such. I am a social scientists, and crafting of a good piece is one of my favourite parts of the job. I like the concentration it takes and the rewards it brings.

I was wondering whether anyone had some experiences and suggestions to share about going from scientific to non-scientific writing.
    Many thanks

2. doghouse

doghouse Member

Don't be afraid to break the rules. *grins*

Get feedback on your creative writing, and take it from there.

3. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

just start reading more creative writing than scientific... or at least as much...

4. squishytheduck

squishytheduck Senior Member

Yes, I have a lot of experience with this.

The two are similar in that writing is writing and any kind of writing is good practice for future writing, whatever that may be. It's also similar in that you want to be as precise (and often concise) with your language as possible. I haven't published anything creatively, but from what I have read, submitting manuscripts to literary journals is as much of a pain as submitting to scientific journals, and the publisher/agent query and negotiations are akin to grant proposals.

A huge difference for me is that in scientific writing, you want to be as dry as you can, make it all about the data. You as an author are to be as far removed from the content as possible, because you are simply taking not of your observations as a disinterested, logical examiner of the facts. In creative writing, especially fiction, you want to put yourself into the writing. It is a much more personal, emotive process and you actual want to have your voice be a prominent part of your work. Creative writing is about execution more too.

What else you want to know?

5. Cogito