1. Thornesque

Thornesque Senior Member

1880's America

Discussion in 'Research' started by Thornesque, Sep 3, 2013.

So, I've been looking for information about what life was like in the U.S. in the early 1880s. The novel I"m planning tow rite takes place between teh years 1883 and 1884. However, all of the infomration I've been able to dig up is about extremely particular topics (I'm not very good at Googling; trust me).

What I was wondering, is if anyone had any sort of sources they could point me towards that would give me a good idea of what life was like for middle- and lower-class citizens in 1880s America. Along with this, obviously, any novels that are set in the 1880s would be fabulous (reading up on the time period in the form of a novel would help a lot in seeing an actual account of someone's life in those times, as well as seeing some of the language that was used).

Thanks in advance to anyone that responds.

2. erebh

erebh Banned Contributor

Just wondering... if you know not-a-lot about life in 1880s America, why are you writing about it? Why not move your story to an era you do know?

3. Thornesque

Thornesque Senior Member

I don't know. Personally I don't need to know a lot (yet) about a topic or era to have interest in it an want to write about it. I mean, similarly, someone can research styles of karate because they think it would do their story good. Just because someone's neve been to Germany doesn't mean they can't think it'd be a good location to place their story. As a creative individual - hell, as a free thinker- I'm allowed to choose what topics, eras and locations interest me. And as a writer, what interests me is what tends to become a part of my novels.

4. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

I've actually got TONS of information regarding that period. In fact, my own novel is set in 1885-86. If you can give me a more specific idea of what you need, I'll see what I can point you toward.