1. Bick

Bick New Member

Any bakers/cooks out there?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Bick, Jun 8, 2007.

Just wondering. For the past two years I've really gotten into baking. I'm actually really good at it too. I hope to go into a Culinary Arts school. I'm just caught between my two loves of writing and baking.

So, at the moment I'm trying to make my own recipes. Shockingly they are coming out pretty well. So far I have made an awesome recipe for chewy chocolate peanut butter cookies.

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

I'm not a professional cook, but I enjoy cooking as a hobby. When it comes to baking, I don't often bake desserts, but I bake bread - white, sourdough, oatmeal, and rye breads, also rolls and popovers.

Other kinds of cooking I enjoy are chili, curries, and other fiery main dishes; pizza, asian dishes, goulash and other stews; and barbecue.

Of course, I also love to eat!

My daughter started out in culinary arts college last year (a le cordon bleu school) until she switched over to graphics arts.

3. Bick

Bick New Member

I'm not great at just cooking dinner dishes, although I like to attempt at it. I've done all right when making a Japanese chili, and some Tofu dish that my grandmother's mom made.

My mom's boyfriend makes this amazing chili, which is why I'm going to make her marry him if he ever pops the question.

I've only made bread by a bread machine, I guess it kind of takes the fun out of it. Do you use just the oven for your bread?

4. Cogito

Yes, I always bake bread in the oven, although I do use a stand mixer for the dough before I knead it by hand.

5. Torana

Torana Contributor Contributor

When it comes to pies and soups I can cook up a storm....just don't ask me to bake a cake cause it will turn out like a rock...but still taste good if you can eat it lol

6. Ferret

Ferret New Member

The parts of your soul you refuse to recognize.