1. Murkie

Murkie Active Member

Currently Reading::
    Rhythm of War - Brando Sando & Rebel's Creed - Daniel B Greene

Getting Established.

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Murkie, Aug 9, 2012.

After reading various threads about how hard it is to get published as an unknown author I've started to wonder if a better route would be to take the self-published approach through Kindle or similar and establish a "portfolio" of material that you can then use to your advantage when you decide to approach a professional publisher.
    Is this a good idea, or does self-publishing somehow hurt your chances of winning a professional contract at a later date?

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

It will pretty much kill your chances of publishing that piece traditionally later. Also, if you submit a later piece for traditional publishing, do not mention your self-published piece.

3. Murkie

Murkie Active Member

Oh really? That's a surprise. I knew that anything self-published would be out of the question regarding submitting to a publisher but I would have thought that having a self-published piece would have been an advantage, especially if it was a successful piece.

4. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

No. Traditional publishers don't consider self-published published, except when it comes to first publishing rights.

The worst of both worlds.

5. B93

B93 Active Member

An exception might be if the self-published work sold a zillion copies, then it could carry some weight with them. But then you probably wouldn't want to go traditional for the next book.

6. bskelhorn

bskelhorn New Member