1. a.s.89

a.s.89 New Member

A little ahead of myself, but just curious...

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by a.s.89, Jul 28, 2009.

I have a book in the works... still really haven't finished it, but I'm getting together an outline and my ideas and I've always thought about writing. But lately I've been thinking about the trouble I might have getting my book published... mostly due to my lack of experience.

My writing experience, as lame as it sounds, has come from three to four years of roleplaying and the beginnings of other books I've written. Other than that, I have no degree in college (I'm twenty years old and am taking courses at a correspondence school for vet assistant, aside from the one year I spent at regular college as a music ed. major). Will that be a problem when I go to get my book published? Will they even look at my resume and query letter after seeing that I have such minimal experience?

Am I doing all this for nothing?

I'm quite new to the world of writing novels, but I've been thinking about it for a long, long while and any insights you all have would be fabulous.

2. thirdwind

thirdwind Member Contest Administrator Reviewer Contributor

Education shouldn't have any effect on publication. Assuming you're not writing anything that requires mastery in that subject (some nonfiction for example), it doesn't matter if you have a 5th education or you're a college graduate. And it's ok if you don't have any publishing experience. You just have to make sure your novel is written to the very best of your ability when you submit it.

3. FrankB

FrankB New Member

thirdwind is correct. The story's the thing, not your experience, or lack of same. Just make sure you do your due diligence when it comes to shopping the finished ms. When the writing's done, the business begins and few writers - at least early in their careers - consider the business aspects. They're too eager to show off their baby to the world.