1. Balmarog

Balmarog Member

Getting stuck, motivation, and confidence

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Balmarog, Jul 15, 2011.

As a new writer, I can't help but ask a lot of questions to try and help my work and also to validate my potential as a story teller (even if my writing needs infinite improvement.)

I have started a lot of stories, but I often stop before finishing. Sometimes I lose that spark that first got me interested in the story. Sometimes I second guess myself, thinking that what I'm writing is total crap. Sometimes I just get re-addicted to World of Warcraft (my guilty pleasure).

I really enjoy telling stories, so I WANT to finish what I start, but I don't know how to overcome these issues of mine. Right now, I've started a blog and am posting the rough draft of a story as I write it, hoping that by having an audience will keep me moving. Last night I got that familiar feeling of "is this crap?" Some friends who are reading along as I write tell me they really enjoy it, and I don't think they're just saying that for my benefit, but just because they like it doesn't mean it's GOOD.

Am I the only one who has these bad habits / worries? Is there some kind of mental exercise to get me through it? I know that most first drafts are pretty sketchy any way and that the revisions are what make them shine, but how do you push through all your doubts and keep moving?

2. JPGriffin

JPGriffin Senior Member

All lies. If your friends like it, and not because they say it to make you happy, that means that it's a legit written piece. Granted, it may not be the audience you're writing for (Or it could be), but unless if they're all chronic liars, then you should have confidence.