1. w176

w176 Contributing Member Contributor

Getting the most out of a writing course

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by w176, Sep 17, 2010.

Im going to read a part time (50%) university course on creative writing. The teacher is a published writer. I have been to a weekend seminar she held when I was teen, and from that experience and from friends that read this course before i know she will be an OK teacher at least or even a great teacher.

The problem for me arises that the course is aimed at beginning level writers, that never picked up a pen and many of the exercises seem to be almost junior high level. 2 pages, maximum of writing on each exercise. With instruction as "Listing to music an inspire poetry." etc, which isn't really useful if you are a total noob.

We will meet for 2 full days 1-2 a month, reviewing each others work. Hence the small size of the workload.

I been writing for 3-8 hours a day the last 10 years. How do you think I should approach the course to get the most out of it?

2. Melzaar the Almighty

Melzaar the Almighty Contributing Member Contributor

In my courses that seemed aimed at newer writers, I took the attitude that there was always something more to learn, and threw myself into the writing exercises anyway, practically role-playing a new writer. As long as they're not lecturing you on grammatical stuff you've known for years, but actually on ideas and stuff, there's always something you might pick up on. Start a new body of work for the course rather than getting frustrated with how it doesn't help you with stuff you're already writing, and, um, see how it goes?

3. Manav

Manav Contributing Member