1. RachHP

RachHP Contributing Member

Giving credit to your inspiration

Discussion in 'Insights & Inspiration' started by RachHP, Jul 1, 2015.

Hi all,

Firstly - I did check out the inspiration thread and various other places to see if I could find an answer, to no avail.
    Thusly:

If you are inspired by someone else's work, at what point do you reach out to acknowledge the source/get permission to move ahead with your inspired idea?
    I read this poem and would love to write a book/short story based on the ideas presented in it. Although I realise my work will be my own and not plagiarism, it would be a clear case of direct inspiration so I'm not sure about the ethics at play!
    I found out the writer's name and have an email address, but whilst writing to ask for some kind of permission I figured I'd hang fire and see what you good folks would do.

Any thoughts?

I said I was a writer,
    Then saw scheming in your glance,
    You had wished to live forever,
    And now I was your chance,
    You clawed your way inside me,
    Shot jet black ink in through my veins,
    Made sure that I would write of you,
    Until I drove myself insane,
    You longed to be the hero,
    Like in the books you used to read,
    Remembered as the kind of the man,
    That everybody needs,
    It was too late when you noticed,
    The one mistake that you had made,
    That a warrior might fight with swords,
    But the pen's a writers blade,
    You can't just tear my world up,
    And then expect a loving rhyme,
    You used your words as sharpened weapons,
    And now I will use mine,
    I trapped you in ink handcuffs,
    Locked you behind my written bars,
    And now you'll finally live forever,
    As the monster that you are.
    E.H

2. TuSlick

TuSlick New Member