1. CJTodd

CJTodd New Member

New to this..

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by CJTodd, Feb 2, 2013.

I'm new to writing. I've always been able to write essays and such, but I've never actually written a story of my own. I have many of them in my head that I would like to put onto paper, but the problem is that I don't even know how to start. I don't know what goes into writing a story. If anyone could help me out with some advice that'd be amazing.

2. GoldenGhost

GoldenGhost Senior Member

Well, the way I treat such things kind of entails a 'full speed ahead' approach, meaning, just start writing something, and do so every day. Get yourself into a groove, whether you're writing journal entries, essays, articles, observations, anything. You have to start training yourself, have to start developing a different mind-state.

As for stories, some people like to outline things to get some clue as to what the whole piece may look like. You have an idea or a character, you want him to go to this place for this reason, this thing happenes, this is how he reacts, and it forces him into this other new place, where this thing happens, or the solution shows itself, and the story ends.

Others like to, as Bradbury did, "Jump off the cliff and build my (your) wings on the way down."