1. Stephen Gazzard

Stephen Gazzard Member

Good sources for medical considerations

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Stephen Gazzard, Oct 14, 2014.

I am not a medical expert. I have a character who suffers a wound that needs to appear fatal at the time it happens but I won't him to survive. Right now it's the whole "bullet didn't hit any major organs but you still got shot" shtick.

What I'm getting stuck on is how long he's down for. I don't want him to be down for too long because there are other characters in my book doing other stuff and I don't want him out of the action for too long. But I have no medical background on the complications / recovery time for such injuries, or if there are similar injuries I could use instead to serve the timeline / need of this scene.

What resources do you other writers use to determine was is a feasible injury for a character to take in your book?

2. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

Well, I can't help with how long your MC should stay down, just longer than Jack Bauer...!

Bear in mind that a bullet doesn't just go straight through (often what kills you is the infection caused by a bullet that stays inside) but will impart a LOT of its inertia to the body parts that get in its way...it will 1/ knock you backwards and 2/ cause some bruising, etc. to the areas near where it impacts.

You might like to google Phineas Gage...had a steel rod blown clean through his skull and out the other side...after-effects of character alteration.

3. Jakv6

Jakv6 Member

Does he receive aid? Is he able to give himself some first aid? Where did the bullet hit? Centre mass? Limb? Skull? You could blow off a portion of the skull and he would look pretty damn dead, but wouldn't necessarily die. He would in any case almost certainly need to go to a hospital, unless you can think of a VERY good reason that he could shrug off a fatal-looking injury.