1. thalorin19

thalorin19 Member

Tattoo's and opinions.

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by thalorin19, Jan 9, 2012.

As of late I've been thinking about getting a tattoo;

The one that I've been thinking about the most would wrap around my wrist. It's influence by Stephen King's The Dark Tower series. I was thinking two wired roses, as roses are pretty prominent in the series, with my favorite quote, "Go, then. There are other worlds then these." I'm not a tattoo artist - if there is one on the board, please comment with advice - but I think that quote may be to long for a wrist thing, and I have small wrists as well. So I don't know.

Anyways, I just sort of wanted to see if other members on here have gotten tattoos, especially if they are related to a favorite novel or something. And just general opinion. I'm been toying around with the thought for a few weeks now.

2. naomisarah

naomisarah New Member

I am positively covered in tattoos.

The quote on your wrist might be a bit long, but in general it's not a good idea to get lettering on a part of the body that creases often or is prone to size changes (such as the stomach or bicep) because of the risk of scarring or stretching. The wrist isn't painful but detail on the creases might crack during the healing process, which causes ink loss and might require repeated touch-up. If you don't have any tattoos yet, I would consider the back of the shoulder or the back of the calf first: non-painful places that do not change size very dramatically (unless you're planning a major weight gain). Also, avoid red if you have any skin allergies. Tattoo allergies, unfortunately, can show up after a few years of having the tattoo. Red ink is a common culprit in that situation.

3. Jhunter

Jhunter Mmm, bacon. Contributor

I as well have many tattoos.

I am not completely covered. But I have my arms, neck and hands covered.

Asking me about the pain wont be helpful; I think it feels good to the point where its relaxing.