1. jamescarroll_uk

jamescarroll_uk New Member

Graphic Novels...

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by jamescarroll_uk, Jan 7, 2008.

Has anyone else here thought about creating a graphic novel? its something id really love to do. when thinking up a plot, i tend to think in images and those images are something id like to show to the reader. The only problem is, i really cant draw! so thats my set back for now.

I could always come up with a few plots and keep them on the side until i come across an artist who can draw what i see. Or until i learn to draw! :)

just wondering if anyone else had had the urge to create one. Also, any tips etc ;)

2. TheFedoraPirate

TheFedoraPirate New Member

That's all I do. I'm a comic script writer/artist.

3. Klee

Klee New Member

That's my dream, to create my own graphic novels. I'm currently drawing one but it's very amateur, not like I plan to show it either.

4. howowiginal

howowiginal New Member

I have the urge, just missing the talent...:( Life's unfair.

5. lordofhats

lordofhats New Member

I tried once. I didn't think it was worth the time. I'm an ok drawer, amateur at best, and in the amount of time it took to draw up an entire page of panels in a neat and proper manner, I could of written five pages of text. I still doodle from time to time but only for fun. Drawing is easy.

Its more a matter of patience than skill in my opinion. I suggest getting the "How to Draw Manga" series of books. They're great. Its also good to get a book on anatomy. If you can look at a picture and replicate it on a piece of paper you can pull stuff out of you head.