1. Jenurik Name

Jenurik Name Member

I'm here to write books and drink whiskey

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Jenurik Name, Jan 23, 2015.

... and I'm all out of whiskey.

But I am serious about writing books. I'm an undergrad in university majoring in engineering, but I've always had the writing bug. My favorite novel is Look Homeward, Angel by Thomas Wolfe. My other favorite writers would be John Updike, as well as Cormac McCarthy and Elmore Leonard. I also enjoy fantasy.

My ambition is to write a blood-drenched psychological thriller.

I'm glad I found this forum, and hope to learn a lot as a writer and contribute to the community.

kfmiller, minstrel and Chinspinner like this.
  2. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Hi, @Jenurik Name, and welcome to the forum! Please read our New Member Quick Start Guide - it'll get you going around here.

You sound like me - I majored in engineering (electrical) in university oh so many years ago (early 80s), and I'm a fan of Look Homeward, Angel too! I haven't read any Updike or Leonard yet, though.

Participate and have fun!

3. Shamgar81

Shamgar81 Member

Welcome to the family hope you find what you seek.

4. Burroughs

Burroughs Member

Whisky, now you're my type of guy. I'm recently got into Cormac McCarthy, are there any of his novels you recommend?

5. Jenurik Name

Jenurik Name Member

That's a cool coincidence! I don't know many people who've read it. At best they know it indirectly since Stephen King used Wolfe's "a stone, a leaf, an unfound door" epigraph for The Dark Tower series. I really think he deserves to be read in high school, at least in electives.

Thanks, I appreciate the welcome!