1. TheHippieFarmer

TheHippieFarmer New Member

Halfway through first draft...

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by TheHippieFarmer, Mar 30, 2011.

.. And I've slumped. It's my first attempt at writing a fiction novel after years of poems and short stories, and an idea I've had bouncing around my head for about 2/3 years or so.

I put it down to a combination of factors (Being stuck on a scene whereby I need an inventive trap set by my main characters, living in hostels and hotels while travelling Vietnam, having a laptop which occasionally refuses to do anything), but the result is I'm not writing. I don't really want to say how long it's been since I've done any meaningful work for a consistent period in case I upset myself, but suffice to say it's been a while. I'll be back in Europe in a stable envioronment in the next couple of weeks, and the setting sounds ideal - I'll be at my girlfriend's family cabin in Norway. No Internet, no TV, no phones, idyllic scenery, fireplace. Just me, my rubbish laptop and three weeks of solitude.

Problem is, the novel has become such a big tangled weight I'm not sure where to start again with it.

I'm 60,000 words in. I love the story, I love the characters, and I reckon it could be a good little book once it's done. Problem is I'm terrified of not only self doubt about the finished product, a problem I'm sure is very common to read here (Am I doing the story justice? Am I wasting my time? Am I any good at this anyway?), but also how to jump back in. Do I:

- Go back and read everything I've already written to get back into the groove? It's an idea, but Stephen King says not to. (That's a half-joke, by the way.)

- Just plough on, and fix it all up in the second draft? (It's kind my style - I just write in the basics, and then review things such as description, conversational nuance, character details etc when the foundations are laid.)