Tags:
  1. Sanz

Sanz New Member

A question of Setting

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Sanz, Jan 30, 2011.

Hello,

I am a new member to this forum and excited to be here. I didn't say much in the introduction area, as I was still reading and getting familiar with the forum.

Just to give you a backdrop on me, I am an established artist in one of the many fields of the arts. I have been writing since High School, even though I have done this for fun. It was just recently that I received a phone call from a friend, who is a published author, to let me know that my writing had been instrumental on her decision to become a writer herself, and that I should pursue a writing career as well.

Obviously, I took off in a different field, and cannot complain, since I have achieved recognition in Europe, North, Central and South America. Now, that my career is established, I feel the insisting need to take writing on a more serious note. And well, I have set some new goals for myself, which I intend to achieve in this new field.

The same way I am a rookie here in this forum, when it comes to writing, I am a rookie as well, regardless of the long years I have been putting down thoughts into words.

I wirte, for the most part, novels. I can range from suspense, to thrillers, to romance, to romantic thrillers and mysteries. Horror and Sci-Fi are not on my list of preferences, even though I enjoy reading them as well.

Anyway, to the point of the question, now that is obvious that I am untrainted in these arts, and simply write because it is a part who I am and an extension of my artistic expression:

When writing a fiction story, is it okay to set it in a fictional place within a real place? And again, I am not talking about Sci-Fi things or anything... simply creating a town that does not exist within a real life, true existing place. Does that make sense? I hope so, because I would really want to lay my mind to rest with this question.