1. jim79

jim79 Member

having to take a break from writing?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by jim79, Dec 20, 2012.

Hi there,

I've been writing on and off for about five years, wrote a book and half a dozern stories but I keep on having problems with keeping relaxed after writing. I plan out the stories as best as I can: write out a rough plot, the characters and their motivation. but for the rest of the day I keep on thinking, how can I change this, how can I change that etc and actually ended up with having a couple of panic attacks because of it.

While I love writing I dont know that its worth worrying myself over it so much and am thinking of either taking a short break or giving it up for ever.

does anybody else suffer with these kind of problems and if they do how did you get around them?

Thanks,

Jim

2. Thomas Kitchen

Thomas Kitchen Proofreader in the Making Contributor

Hi Jim,

I too plan out my stories, but not too much in case I lose interest in the plot and characters. If you are a writer at heart then I have to say, you will be thinking about books, writing, and ideas for a LOT of the time, just like I do (;)). But even though I think about my books a lot, that doesn't stop me from doing and thinking other things, too - I have plenty of other hobbies such as painting, playing videogames, and being a nutter! What I'm trying to say is that if you really are thinking about your plots and characters all the time, then perhaps you should take up a hobby to take your mind off it.

And of course, if that doesn't work, then yes, take a short break. Take half a year off if you want to. But if you are a true writer you'll never stop writing: you'll just delay it! :p

Hope I helped,

Thomas