1. Faizan Samiullah

Faizan Samiullah New Member

How Can I Learn American Writing Styles?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Faizan Samiullah, Jun 3, 2013.

Hey all,

I am a newbie in this forum. I am a content writer and good at english writing, but I want to learn american writing styles. Kindly give me some ideas.

Regards,

Faizan Samiullah

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Read many books published for an American readership.

3. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor

The best way to learn American writing styles is to read American writers. Start with Mark Twain, then move on to any of the following whose writing grabs you: Edgar Allan Poe, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Dorothy Parker, O. Henry, Upton Sinclair, William Faulkner, James Thurber, John Knowles, Daphne DuMaurier, Herman Wouk, James A. Michener, Leon Uris, Ralph Ellison, Tennessee Williams, Jack London, Flannery O'Connor, Sylvia Plath, Katherine Anne Porter, Upton Sinclair, Studs Terkel, Joyce Carol Oates, Harper Lee, Tom Clancy, Allan Drury, Eugene O'Neal, Toni Morrison.

Not all of these are the "best" writers, but they all represent a portion of a distinctly American voice.

Good luck, and good reading.

4. Nee

Nee Member

And Then Read:

Ross MacDonald
    James Lee Burke
    Raymond Chandler
    John Steinbeck
    Sumuel Delany
    Dennis Lehane
    Frank Herbert
    James Crumley
    Ray Bradbury
    Octavia Bulter
    Ed McBain
    Tony Hillerman
    Robert Stone
    Anne Lamott
    Elmore Leonard
    Neal Stephenson
    George Pelecanos
    Robert Heinlein
    James W. Hall
    Philip K Dick
    Dean Koontz
    Alice Walker
    Randy Wayne White
    Robert Crais
    James M. Cain
    William Burroughs
    Thomas Harris
    John MacDonald
    Stephen King

…umm…my brain gave out.

*edit: And Ed...Daphne DuMaurier was British.
    Though I love Rebecca.

5. Wreybies