Tags:
  1. Kizzymai

Kizzymai New Member

Novel Are you bored with your novel?

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by Kizzymai, May 15, 2008.

Do you think this means that it is boring?

I am in the process of rewriting and I have been writing this book, on and off for four yrs. I find the creative writing really exciting but the rewriting less so. I am finding it hard to feel motivated. I have read this chapter so many times....
    Hi, btw, I'm new! Haven't customized my page, I may never!

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

if the writer is bored, how can s/he expect readers to be kept on the hook?

3. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

True, Maia, but the reader won't have gone over the story as many times as the writer. I think it's natural for you to lose a bit of the excitement after a number of rewrites. But how many rewrites have you done? You have to ask yourself if you're just being too picky?

4. ChimmyBear

ChimmyBear Writing for the love of it. Contributor

I found my self in this situation and ended up scraping 17 chapters of
    hard work that just didn't move or excite me. I couldn't get the rewriting to work nothing seemed to fit and out of frustration scraped every bit of it.

I wish I hadn't jumped the gun and dismantled it as I did. I have learned so much more over the past year that could have helped to save my work. It is a lesson learned. Just hang in there and try to be as objective as you can...stepping away for a while might be necessary as well. You can then come back to it and give the story a fresh approach.

All The Best

5. Rumpole40k

Rumpole40k Banned

I have to agree with Chimmy. First, don't scrap it. Second, take a break and let your sunconscious mull things over.

6. feather

feather New Member