1. Pens

Pens New Member

Hello

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Pens, May 14, 2012.

I lurked on these forums for awhile, and then I registered and lurked some more. For all my searching I’ve not found satisfying answers to some questions I have, so I decided to ask them and figured I would introduce myself as well.

I am brand new to writing. I want to write novels in the future, but am content writing short stories for now. I read short stories as often as possible and I try to write one – or start one, at least – every day. I like to think they’re getting better as I write more. I’m having difficulties with things which seem common amongst new writers, if not all writers, according to what I’ve read on the forums.

I recently started journaling, though I am terrible about actually doing it. I’ve noticed that the things worth writing about are things I would rather not revisit. I will work on this, though. Anyway, on to the questions …

I understand that 1st person POV/voice is supposed to be the most difficult voice in which to write, especially for the new writer, but it seems the overwhelming majority of short stories I’ve read were written in 1st person. I could see how the complexity of novels could make caring for the authenticity of the POV difficult. My instinct tells me to practice writing short stories in 1st person, and then practice 3rd person for novel purposes later.

1) Are the difficulties of 1st person POV associated more with novels than short stories?

2) Does anyone have personal experience or knowledge they could share on different approaches? (with my goals in mind)