1. nikita

nikita New Member

Beginner writer - help needed!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by nikita, Jan 14, 2012.

Hi there!

Myself Nikita, I'm a newbie in this forum as well as in writing. The objective of joining this forum is to overcome my writing block.:(

Hope you guys, welcome me and supports me towards shaping my writing skills. :confused:

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)

Regards,
    Nikita

2. dalehileman

dalehileman New Member

First ask whether the block might simply constitute a subconscious unwillingness

3. funkybassmannick

funkybassmannick New Member

The only thing that works for me is meditation. If you don't know how to meditate, I'll give you some basic instructions:

1) Sit or lay somewhere comfortable
    2) Set an alarm for 5 minutes
    3) Close your eyes
    4) Try your best to clear all the thoughts in your mind. Our minds are incredibly chatty, but every time you start thinking about something try to let it drop.
    5) (optional, but helpful) Once you're able to quiet your mind a bit, try to focus your attention on the next scene you want to write. Think about what is happening, what the setting looks like, what the characters are thinking, feeling, and saying. If other thoughts come up, gently push them out of your mind and bring your focus back to the scene.
    6) When the time is up, take a moment to collect yourself, and start writing.

The "Block" in writing, in my opinion, is all the clutter of random thoughts, emotions, worries, etc. that we carry with us throughout the day. It's like hair in a drain. If you want your creativity to flow, the best way is to clear out these thoughts, and I think the best way to do that is to meditate as I describe above. This particular meditation might not be for you, but there are thousands of variations of meditation. If it doesn't work, try a different kind of meditation. In any case, it's definitely worth 5 minutes of your time.

4. Question