1. Illandrius

Illandrius Member

Writing Concerns

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Illandrius, Jul 20, 2016.

Hello everyone,

I am not sure if this has been brought up before or not. I have noticed a problem that I may have. I had a great idea for a book, so I thought, I can do that...why not?! So here I am with a world created and characters created and I sit down to begin writing and nothing.

I have the ideas. I am struggling with the beginning of the book. Not only that, what I have written is very elementary. How does someone like me that has a really good idea get to the point where they can write it and it sound like it is well written.

The question I have is how do you get better at writing. This is my first attempt at writing a book.

lexusmr and jannert like this.
  2. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Just one suggestion because others are sure to come: Be willing to treat the first few pages of what you write as a throw-away, as warm up, as getting into the groove, so to speak. Maybe you just throw that bit away or maybe it folds into the story later on. Be willing not to expect it to be golden from the first paragraph.

Tesoro likes this.
  3. doggiedude

doggiedude Contributor Contributor

The million dollar question. There's probably about a million answers to it also.
    You could take a creative writing class, or just read some of the thousands upon thousands of online articles about the subject.
    Some people suggest starting out by writing short stories or flash fiction to learn some of the basics of story-telling.
    You can also pick up a bunch of novels written by authors you admire & study what they do & how they do it.