1. Ben_

Ben_ New Member

A Matter of Perspective.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Ben_, Jun 19, 2012.

Hello everyone, I’ve just joined and I thought I should make a post to say hello :)

I’m new to story writing, and after I’ve written something, I find myself reading back my work and being presented with a kind of dilemma. The best way I can think to explain it, is to use the example of old photographs: I love looking through my old photographs, when I look at them they remind me of places I’ve been, people I’ve known, people I’ve loved. They remind me of heartache and good times, happiness and tragedy. They are images made vivid to me through the intensity of the experiences they represent. I can look at them for hours! However, when I show other people the same pictures, they smile and nod for a while, comment on how young I look etc, but after a while they become bored. I don’t blame them, I’ve had exactly the same experience when looking at other peoples photographs. They’re interesting, but don’t glow with quite the same light as my own.

My problem is that I get the same sense when reading back my writing. I find myself thinking about how interesting it seems (although often badly written), and I wonder how much of this is because it was me who created the characters, me who furnished the scenes, me who gave them light and colour. The events I have written about are vivid to me because they come from my own experience, my own thoughts.

What I am asking (I think) is whether any of you have ways of dealing with this problem, ways of determining whether what you have written would seem interesting to a reader, ways of gaining some sense of objectivity about your writing :confused:

I suppose I’m also asking what it is that grabs readers, and holds their attention.

2. Show

Show Contributor Contributor