1. Saxonvoter

Saxonvoter New Member

Greetings from Finland

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Saxonvoter, Mar 28, 2016.

I'm a 21-year-old aspiring writer from Finland. I'm a first year student of English language, but I'm applying to change my major to Literature this spring, because from the start I've found the current subject of my studies to be kinda boring. We've had some courses that dealt with literature, and I've enjoyed those way more than most other courses, which is what made me want to change my major. I was more interested in literature to begin with, and only chose English because I wanted to study in English. However, right now I'm just content to have English language as one of my minors.

My writing career, as one might call it, started around age 13 with text-based Role Playing Games on forums such as this one, and then few years later in secondary school I found fan fiction. I've been an avid reader of all kinds of fanfiction ever since, and currently have many ongoing fan fiction projects of epic proportions. I started out writing in Finnish (RPG's), but as I started reading fan fiction and books in English, it stuck me as a better language to reach a wider audience. I've been writing mainly in English for about five years now.

I've also dabbled in comics, and my current original writing project is slightly based on one of my old comic ideas, although it has changed a lot since the beginning. To be honest, it's not even recognisably the same story anymore. It's a mix of sci-fi and fantasy. Here's a link to a thread where I explain about the idea more.