1. thabear637

thabear637 New Member

Am I crazy? or should i go full steam?

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by thabear637, Sep 9, 2008.

Hello,
    I've never been much into english, or writing. Not until recently anyways.

I'm a somewhat recent college grad, majoring in marketing. I have just taken a new job in which a LOT of travel is involved, and I have found myself with a lot of free time in the hotel with just me and a lap top.

I have always enjoyed reading novels and watching movies...but recently I have thought of a few cool ideas for stories. I already started on one of them, and I wrote about 20 pages worth so far.

However, I have just thought of a different story, one in which I like the idea of the plot a lot better and I feel more comfortable writing in this genre (the first book was of a fantasy type genre, the second is more of a general fiction).

I know (well...reasonably sure anyways lol) I would never become a well known author of any type due to no writing courses, experience, etc. However, I just think it would be fun to write ideas for a story and write it all out..and eventually get it printed. Even if only my wife is the only one to read it I think it would be fun.

However I do think it would be more fun to be able to write enough that it got out to other people to read.

Am I out of my mind thinking I could do something like this? you can be honest you won't hurt my feelings :)

And by the way since this is the new member introductions:
    My name is Jeremy, and I may be checking these forums periodically with questions (and who knows if i get the hang of this maybe some answers too!!) and look forward to chatting with everyone!

(p.s. any tips would also be appreciated)
    Thanks,
    Jeremy

2. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello Jeremy, Welcome to the Writing Forums.