1. MonicaK

MonicaK New Member

Hello ~ Writing a children's chapter book in New England

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by MonicaK, Jul 21, 2012.

Hello all,

I'm so glad to have found this forum. I hit a crossroads in my life and really started looking at my career, interests and all those things that I told myself I would do "someday." I decided this year to start working on my "someday" list which included an idea for a children's chapter book that I have been sittng on for years. So.... I just started writing!

I've been reading posts this past week, and I already feel a bit better about some of the challenges that I've encountered. I've also just discovered the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators, but I haven't joined yet. (I'm sure everyone here is very familiar with SCBWI, but I'm just learning ;)) The local chapter is having an event in October which sounds interesting AND bonus... it's being hosted at the Eric Carle Museum, and he's a fav of my daughters :).

~ I did have a question~
    Is there a section on how people start their books (this will be a chapter book-maybe 100 pages? not sure yet)? I've read some articles that say just write, write, write and then go back and edit. I've also seen some articles and info about creating an outline first, a storyboard etc. I don't have the details, exact plot etc. for my story but I guess a pretty good outline in my head.

Thanks for having me!

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

Welcome to Writing Forums, MonicaK!

I hope you find what you're looking for here, whatever your interests in writing.

This forum aims to provide the best workshopping resources on the internet, and to that end we have a few rules which you should familiarise yourself with before you get stuck in. The main section of the site is the Writing Workshop, where members can post their writing in order to receive critique of their work.