1. Ahab

Ahab New Member

Greetings

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Ahab, Sep 11, 2007.

Hey people!
    I live in a small and dull village in Oxfordshire. I enjoy writing, reading, drawing, art, photography, and karate.
    My favourite books are "Moby Dick" and "The Gormenghast Trilogy".
    I am completely new to using any forums of any kind, as such I don't even know basic forum terminology.

2. Banzai

Banzai One-time Mod, but on the road to recovery Contributor

Tell me about it... The amount I've already had to explain to you... :p

Welcome aboard old friend, if you have any more questions please feel free to ask. It's good to have you here, even if your face did ruin the graph for my maths coursework :p

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Hello Ahab, Welcome to the Writing Forums.

If you haven't explored the site yet, you should probably do so soon. Newcomers often gravitate to the Lounge, the Word Games, or the Review Room, but there is much more to be discovered if you poke in the corners.

As for the Review Room, new joiners often wonder why we do things a bit differently on this site than on other writing sites. We emphasize reviewing as a critical writing skill. Training your eye by reviewing other people's work helps you improve your own writing even before you present it for others to see. Therefore, we ask members to review other people's writing before posting work of their own. The Review Room on this site, therefore, is a true workshop, not just a bulletin board for displaying your work. See this post, Why Write Reviews Before Posting My Work? for more information.

Enjoy your stay here, and have fun!

4. Ahab

Ahab New Member

Does this mean that I shall have to write some reviews before submitting an entry for the short story contest?

5. Banzai

No, you only have to review prior to posting your own work up for review. You can enter the contests as you please.

6. Ahab

Ahab New Member