1. DerfelGadarn

DerfelGadarn New Member

Help... first time novel writer...

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by DerfelGadarn, Jun 9, 2015.

Here are two scenarios that, as a first-time (fantasy) novel writer, are a little problematic for me...

The first is time travel-ish: Over a few paragraphs we briefly meet a historical guy (let's call him) "Alexander" then I'd like to jump 200 years into the future and meet "Bob"... and then go back and forth telling their stories in parallel for a while... short bits, not the length of whole chapters.

The second scenario: "Alexander" searches the battlefield and finds the body of his son... cut to his "Nemesis" discovering that his son is dead also... "Nemesis" screams in rage... "Alexander," many, many miles away, reacts as if he heard the scream.

this is my first attempt at writing a novel. In a script this would be easy to format by cutting between scenes. Is there a way that this kind of choppy-jump-around-in-time-and-space-thing would work in a novel? And/or can anyone suggest examples of this kind of thing from published books?

Thanks in advance for all your help and suggestions.

2. The Mad Regent

The Mad Regent Senior Member

Transitions are a difficult thing to pull off effectively, but with practice it shouldn't be a problem.

You should start by reading anything that has a multitude of time or scene transitions. The story I'm reading now (Mr Mercedes by Stephen King) tends to jump back and forth between the protagonist and antagonist. Simply studying things like that will help you immensely.

As for the 'reaction' to the scream, I would say that boils down to using the correct words. You could try something like, 'Alexander swiftly turned with vigilance as though the cries of his arch enemy, name, echoed across macabre fields.'

Overall, I would just recommend reading and planning a lot before you dive into the writing.

3. DerfelGadarn

DerfelGadarn New Member