1. scottyboy90

scottyboy90 New Member

An idea i had...

Discussion in 'Non-Fiction' started by scottyboy90, Jun 16, 2012.

Okay, so I'm a songwriter normally but i had this amazing idea. My girlfriend's favourite hobby is reading and I am planning to propose to her, I thought a unique and romantic way to do so would be to write a book about our relationship up until the point i propose, give it her to read but don't write the last few pages and then propose to her (in person, not in the book) on the last bit to finish the story?? Only problem is I've never written a book before and would just love some peoples feedback as to weather this is a good idea and some pointers on getting started??

Please lemme know guys it would mean a lot! :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

It's a sweet idea, but I wouldn't do it. Writing a readable book might delay your proposal by years, and it might never be readable. The two of you may not agree about all the details of your relationship. If it isn't very readable, your girlfriend might be distracted and irritated by the task of how to convince you that she thinks it's great. If it's a full-fledged book it will take her hours to read and she might not get around to it for weeks, while you wait around impatiently, getting annoyed.

I'd just propose. After she accepts, then play her a song that you wrote for the occasion.

3. naturemage

naturemage Active Member

I agree. Not to mention she may get bored reading over all the things she already knows. Probably not a good idea.

4. Rapscallion

Rapscallion Active Member

That's a great idea! Do it! And include a romantic song for her in the book. There are so many wonderful ways you could go with this.

Don't just do a blasé normal proposal like every other Tom, Dick and Scotty. A special girl deserves a special proposal. If you propose to her in a unique way she will feel special and unique to you.

All the best.

5. louis1

louis1 Member