1. Pauli

Pauli New Member

Help getting started

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Pauli, Nov 25, 2008.

Hi,

Pauli here - I'm a newbie...

At the moment I'm directing a play I have just finished writing. It's taken me two years, seven drafts and 5 readings.

Earlier this year I made up my mind to move away from theatre and instead have a go at writing a book. This may well be my last play.

I have numerous ideas for both fiction and non-fiction works but it occurred to me last week that whilst I am in the process of rehearsing it would make sense to begin a novel of the very play I'm working on.

My question?

Well...:)...to be honest I'm just not sure how / where to start.

I have made a start but I'm not really happy with it...

I have the story, location and characters - that side of it is all done.

I guess what I'm having trouble with is do I write from the first person, do I recount the story or tell it as it unfolds?

My personal desire it to write it as it unfolds from the point of view of the main character.

HELP!!!!! It's just the whole getting started thing I guess :confused

Is there an exercise I can do that might help me to focus on solving this early dilemma?

I know that once I get started I will be OK - it's just the whole getting started...I hope this post makes some kind of sense...

2. RIPPA MATE

RIPPA MATE Contributing Member

Go with your gut feeling, your personal desire. You'll probably write better that way. And stop stuffing around and just write, seriously, and no offence, but its true.

3. eclecticism7

eclecticism7 New Member